Who heals the sick – me or Holy Spirit – an analogy.

Think about mowing the lawn (grass). I use a lawnmower to do it. Now – which entity cut the grass? Me or the lawnmower? (OK – my wife, but that’s not the point here).

The lawnmower does the work and has the power to cut grass. I don’t. But I USE the lawnmower. Now – if the lawnmower were automated to do the job without human intervention. Then there would be no argument – the lawnmower did the job.

But we always say – I cut the grass. We NEVER say – my lawnmower cut the lawn yesterday.

To apply this to healing. We are given the Holy Spirit as our helper.

John 14:25-27
These things I have spoken to you while I am still with you.  But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you.

When we lay hads on people, the Holy Spirit flows out of us into the sick person and works healing in them. But He only flows and does the healing when we lay hands and speak the word. So we initiate and He follows. We are leading Him, not the other way around. He is waiting for us to act and when we act, he moves.

So, in our analogy, the Holy Spirit takes to role of lawnmower. God has given US His Spirit and told US to heal the sick. We do this by releasing the Holy Spirit. He doesn’t work on His own independant of us.

So, it is correct to say that the Holy Spirit is working healing in the sick person. But in line with our analogy, any normal use of language and communication would be to say WE did the healing. If I got a new more powerful lawnmower and found I could do the job in half the time, I may well tell my friends about the new mower and how much easier it makes the job. But I will still be saying I (not the mower) did the job.

I apologise for labouring the point. But the understanding that says ‘we cannot heal – only Jesus is the healer’ is so entrenched in the church that it needs a sledgehammer to break it open. We need to drop the traditions of men and move to using bible language.

I trust that this analogy will help some.

 

Leave a Reply

