Does God share His glory with us?

God has said, “I will not give My glory to another.” This scripture is taken by many and twisted out of its context to make many other scriptures a lie.

I recently saw the following quote which prompted my writing of this blog:

“Now get this clear: the vessel never becomes the liquid, nor the liquid the vessel. I add this because we humans are so proud that there creeps into us the idea that we can be deified. That is blasphemy. There is no such thing as self-deification, except that of Satan, the pseudo-God, and what we share with him. The divine can dwell in the human, but forever the human is the human and the divine the divine. God has said, “I will not give My glory to another.” That is the vital importance of the vessel illustration: we are forever the container; He is that which we contain. That relationship never changes.+ Norman Grubb – The Key to Everything

Moses’ face shone so bright with the glory of God that he had to wear a veil [Ex 34:29-34]. God seems to be happy to share his glory with Moses. Then we have John 17:22 The glory that you have given me I have given to them. Jesus (God) giving His glory to us.

What is the verse quoted above? Is 48:11. But what is the context? From verse 1 God is talking about the things he did. Then he says in verse 5 I declared them to you from of old,
before they came to pass I announced them to you,
lest you should say, ‘My idol did them,
my carved image and my metal image commanded them.’

So here the contrast is between saying God did it or my idol did it.

Clearly the idol is the ‘another’ God will not give his glory to.

Then we have Is 42:8
I am the Lord; that is my name;
my glory I give to no other,
nor my praise to carved idols.

Again clearly talking about giving his glory to idols.

Now consider Is 60:2
For behold, darkness shall cover the earth,
and thick darkness the peoples;
but the Lord will arise upon you,
and his glory will be seen upon you.

God’s glory will be seen upon us – maybe it’s just lent to us and not given?

Another scripture to consider is Rom 8:16-17 The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be GLORIFIED with him.

Now let’s consider if we remain mere human. John 1:12 those who believe are given the right to become sons of God, NOT born of flesh but of Spirit. 2 Cor 5:17 we are a new species that had never existed before – so by definition not human since that is a species that HAS existed.

And not mere container separate from the content – 1 Cor 6:17 But he who is joined to the Lord becomes one spirit with him.

So we are in Christ – 2 Cor 5:17 again calls us IN Christ – so He is the container and we are the contained, yet Col 1:27 To them God chose to make known how great among the Gentiles are the riches of the glory of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.

So He is in us, we’re in Him and we’ve so joined with him that the two can never be separated.

And yet again, we have Christ in US our hope of glory – clearly the glory of God being given to us – unless we claim that the Christ in us has first been stripped of His glory!!!

 

2 Cor 3:18 And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.

Here Paul is remembering Moses’ face shining with the glory of God. It comes from the Lord, so God is doing this – transforming us into the image of the glory of God in an increasing way.

I am NOT forever a container – I am forever a son of God.

17 Responses to “Does God share His glory with us?”

  1. Jelly Says:

    thank you. It encourages me to read this bcz I too know of many instances when only pieces of Scripture is used in someone’s explanation/devo/testimony so long as it “fits” his/her thought. …could be Pride, could be ignorance, or lack of good teaching… Well, most of this (life) is sanctification, really. …and since “be ye Holy, for I am Holy” simply cannot be accommplished on our own, we who have accepted Christ as our Lord and personal Savior to live & dwell in our hearts, must rely on the Holy Spirit (Comforter) that Jesus left us with upon his return to Heaven, right? I’m just saying. Thank you for the Scripture references in your blog – GREATLY appreciated brother. -j

    • jeremypenwarden Says:

      Nice comment and your encouragement appreciated.

      Sanctification, if you do a study, is almost always spoken of in the past tense ie something already done and by God, or the blood or the word, not by us.

      For example Heb 2:11-12
      For he who sanctifies and those who are sanctified all have one origin. That is why he is not ashamed to call them brothers,

      This is the scripture that puts sanctification as an ongoing process, but it is clear that is is 100% God’s work.

  2. James T Says:

    I recently had this discussion with another person. I must say up-front that your dismissal of Isaiah 42:8 as “clearly talking about idols” is not so clear when we look at the passage in some parallel versions.

    “I am Jehovah, that is my name; and my glory will I not give to another, neither my praise to graven images.”

    I would argue that clearly this verse is addressing two things, glory and praise.

    That said, I think what we are facing here is a symantecal issue. All of your verse examples are of God glorifing man or showing His glory through man — not of him *sharing* His glory with man.

    There is a subtle but distinct difference. When we share something, a part of what was ours is often lost. Even if we think of sharing life experience, we must give up a portion of our independence and sole decision making authority to the person we are sharing with (otherwise we really are not sharing, we are just draggin them along).

    So I must respectfully submit that God does not, in fact, “share” His glory. But He certainly does allow His children to experience His glory.

  3. jeremypenwarden Says:

    James T.
    I approved your comment only because I do not wish to censor your opinions.
    John 17:22, one of my verse examples, specifically says GIVE his glory to us. neither God glorifing man or showing His glory through man — not of him *sharing* His glory with man.

    So I will respectfully submit that God has not only shared it with us but fully GIVEN it – John 17:5 – the same glory that Jesus had before the world was made.

    I trust you will rethink your opinion.

  4. Benjamin Says:

    I believe a good analogy between God’s Glory and the glory shared with us is my (earthly) father’s DNA and my own. If you were to run blood tests on both of us you would find that we share simular DNA traits that would conect us of being of the same blood but you would also find a distinction between the two. Although shared, my fathers DNA is distinctly his and mine my own. As to our heavenly Father, His is of whorship and praise, ours is of His santification and resrurection through His Son.

    Jesus claimed the exact Glory (DNA) of the Father. Jesus is to be whorshiped, not us.

    God bless all those who are in Him.

    • jeremypenwarden Says:

      Benjamin, I believe that could be a good analogy there but not about how God’s glory is displayed in New Covenant. Today His glory is best displayed when we do the works of the Kingdom, healing the sick and casting out devils etc. When Jesus did that the people glorified God.

  5. Becky Says:

    I just have a question. Could this passage in any way mean that I sometimes steal “glory or “praise” from God when I don’t give Him the credit for what He has done/is doing in my life? God has dealt with me recently about the issue of pride in my life and the verse in Isaiah continues to come to mind. Thank you for your reply.

    • jeremypenwarden Says:

      I find that God is much more interested in speaking truth to us. Truth of who He has made us. The devil is quite happy to ‘convict’ you of your weaknesses, like pride. What feels to us like God dealing with us, is often the devil tricking us. When we know how tremendous the Spirit within us is and how His power is given to us freely, then pride disappears like darkness does when light is shone, or dew when the sun comes out.

      I think Jesus is much more concerned about us doing the works he did, loving people and helping them, that about counting up who gets ‘glory’. Frankly, He has quite enough glory and is not panicking about whether his kids get some praise too.

      What parent complains when their kid it brought out in front of the school to be given the glory of a prize for achievement? Does the parent jump up and demand to be given the credit for their kids success? No. The parent delights to see their kids receive honour and glory and God delights to see us receiving glory too.

    • jeremypenwarden Says:

      I should say God is a proud parent excited to see us doing well, not some spoilt brat always wanting to take the credit for everything.

      • Becky Says:

        Jeremy, thank you for the insight. I have never thought of it that way. :0) My journey away from legalism and into grace is bringing joy and smiles around every corner. Thank you so much .
        I do wonder many times, however,… how does God get the glory when I let my light shine and men see my good works. Seems to me that we are so prone (even as christians) to pat each other on the back and not acknowledge it was God who gave us the ability to preform the task ? Maybe I’m just being too analytical. Besides as you say… God has plenty of glory ! I think your answer does help me to once again consider the Father/child relationship. What a sweet and precious illustration. Thanks Jeremy.

      • jeremypenwarden Says:

        Thing is, God gives us his power, but it is up to us how we use it. When someone does well, it is fair enough to say ‘good job’. We should encourage each other and at the same time remember who it is that made us who we are.

        On my YouTube channel – jeremypenwarden – you will find some videos by Steve Thompson which will inspire you if you are walking away from law.

        Many blessings and I am really glad we have met, even if only in this unreal world of online.
        Jeremy
        From England.

  6. Earl Showalter Says:

    Jeremy,Jesus was the visible manifestation of the invisible God and we are the visible manifestation now of the invisible God.Let your light so shine before men that they will Glorify God in heaven.Hope that helps.

  7. Earl Showalter Says:

    Appreciate your insight as I will be teaching on this 5/7 at my church.Some pretty awesome stuff.We have this treasure in earthen vessels,praise God!!!

  8. Earl Showalter Says:

    Sorry Jeremy I see it was Becky had the ? about good works.Jesus said it was the Father in me who doeth the works but certainly it was Jesus who was visible doing it but revealing the invisible God who men couldn,t see.The same way we Live,Move and have our being in him.WE work yet not us but the Grace of God in us giving expression of the Glory of the invisible God.

  9. juliaford Says:

    Thank you very helpful. Won’t bother you with the week I had, but woke up with”arise shine”in my spirit,which I ignored,thinking it me.Then via my devotions and google somehow got here, God is awesome.Going to meditate on those veses. Thanks again Jeremy.

  10. Iwuala Chibueze Says:

    This is good writeup keep it and God bless you.

  11. Apostle Steve Adonai Says:

    Scriptural analysis motivated by the Holy Spirit always leave us relieved, refreshed and released into our great benefits in Christ Jesus. Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 744 other followers